When Bacon Wraps Around Chicken, Magic Happens


Bacon is one of the leading stars in my culinary play.

I could eat it 24 x 7 but I don’t because I want to live … Now if only there was a way to get all the bad out of bacon!

Which brings me to a question I ask 24 x 7. Why in the world aren’t scientists working on making bacon a healthy must-have? Don’t they know a Nobel awaits their efforts? Ignoramuses I say …

Rant done, I return to my bacon hunger.

Make 6 cloves of garlic and 8 whole peppercorns sit artistically on the chicken breast.

Cover the garlic with a few sprigs of rosemary. Note how the artistic quotient rises.

Wrap the chicken breast lovingly with bacon. Brush with honey.

Add potatoes (halved) and onions (quartered) . Put away to sizzle slowly in the oven for about 90 minutes.

I love it when all the bacon fat melts into the chicken, giving it a lovely flavour.

So there you have it, my masterpiece – honey glazed bacon wrapped chicken infused with rosemary, garlic and whole peppercorns.

So moist and tender, it will surely spur the scientists into action!

8 thoughts on “When Bacon Wraps Around Chicken, Magic Happens

  1. Hi Sanjiv, I missed this when you posted it first and was just over to see what you were at. This is fantastic. I really should not read your posts while I am waiting for my food to cook.
    Best as ever,
    Conor

  2. Looks yumtious… but isn’t 90 minutes long for chicken breasts or do you have it on very low temps? Bacon wrapped anything is heavenly..

  3. What temperature do you set your oven at? And should the bacon end up crisp or soft and melting? Also, how do you remove the whole black pepper which is below the bacon?

    • If I remember right I set it at about 170 C. The bacon stays soft and melting. I don’t remove the peppercorns, I bite into them. Gives it that spicy kick. By the way I used Trikaya rosemary 🙂

    • Haha, yes it does! Tastes sinful too! And somewhere on the dark edge of the horizon, I spot the Grim Reaper laughing evilly and rubbing his hands in glee 🙂

Leave a Reply

