The ‘Bombaim’ Ragu


The beauty of spaghetti is that you can eat it with any kind of sauce.

And, “any kind of sauce”, is a wonderful excuse for deviating from the beaten path.

Mind you, I don’t do this to be different. I do it because my taste buds tire of the usual rather quickly.

Since I was in a spaghetti frame of mind for this Sunday’s lunch, I fretted over the sauce which was going to feature minced chicken.

I didn’t want to go the Bolognese way. Nor did I want the Neapolitan or Barese touch.

Amongst the other things I didn’t want were cheese or an overdose of a tomato-ey flavour.

Not sounding very authentic, isn’t it?

That’s where “any kind of sauce” kicks in again. The beauty of that phrase is it gives you the license to do anything.

Which is what I did.

And to give it some respectability, I called it after the 16th century Portuguese name for my city, even though there isn’t even a remote connection.

I just liked it.

‘Bombaim’ Ragu

Ingredients

Chicken mince – 500g

Tomatoes – 2 medium, chopped

Onions – 2 medium, chopped

Garlic – 8 cloves, chopped

Ginger – ½ tsp, crushed

Whole Peppercorns – 2 tbsp, crushed

Worcestershire sauce – 2 tbsp

Olive oil – 1 tbsp

Water – 2 ½ cups

Salt – to taste

Method

Heat oil in a pot and toss in the garlic. As soon as it releases its awesome aroma, toss in onions, ginger and tomatoes. Sauté until the tomatoes go soft.

Add the minced chicken and sauté until the chicken begins to brown.

Add the crushed pepper and sauté for a few minutes.

Fold in the Worcestershire sauce and give it a quick stir.

Add water and simmer away for 15 minutes.

Season with salt.

I wolfed it down with whole wheat spaghetti.

A Note:

I’m sure the next time I am in “a spaghetti frame of mind” and ponder over the sauce, my ‘Bombaim’ Ragu will have very different ingredients.

Ha.

3 thoughts on “The ‘Bombaim’ Ragu

Leave a Reply

