Curry Leaf Chronicles … 2


“I can’t get enough of the humble Curry Leaf” returns!

This time, at breakfast.

I like oats with milk. It’s comforting. There’s something nourishing and satisfying and soul-filling about slurping a warm, slightly sweet milky porridge. I don’t top it with anything usually unless an occasional banana comes along.

But today feels like a savoury morning and oats stay in the picture.

To tame the strong ‘oat-presence’ of oats, I turn to the curry leaf.

It has an intoxicating, tangy, aromatic zest with a hint of tangerine and basil and kaffir lime.

Just the kind of strong flavour that tips the dish into the delicious.

So besides a nice handful of curry leaves, I add onions and mushrooms. For the bite that I need this morning, I add a green chilly and whole peppercorns.

I let it all bubble away and infuse each other’s flavours and it’s ready in a few minutes.

It’s all so quick.

For the west, I’d call it savoury oats.

Out here I’d call it upma.

Oats Upma

You will need:

Oats – quick cooking variety, 1 cup

Button Mushrooms – medium, 3

Onion – small, 1

Curry Leaves – fresh, 15 sprigs

Green Chilly – sliced, 1

Whole Peppercorns – 1 tsp

Oil – 1 tsp

Water – 2 cups

Salt – to taste

What to do:

Heat the oil in a pot until very hot and add the curry leaves, sauté for 1 minute.

Add the chilly, onion and mushrooms and sauté for a couple of minutes.

Add the oats and sauté until all the ingredients are properly combined.

Add water, and bring to a boil while stirring constantly.

Simmer for 3 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Serve. Hot.

My other savoury oats recipe with egg drop is here.

More “Curry Leaf Chronicles“.

Leave a Reply

