Curried Pork Belly of The Random Kind


That’s right. Random.

Because it began as a colour.

What colour should I eat?

Not exactly.

But more like what colour would I like my dish to be.

With a taste to match.

At this point I know what’s going on in your mind.

You’re thinking I’m loony. Or batty. Or loopy.

But that’s the way I cook.

Random.

Sometimes.

I salivate over colour.

Already on my palate, red, which was going to turn a pinkish white.

My taste buds begin tasting the pinkish white.

I begin feeling curry-ish.

Nothing heavy, something light, keeping with the sunshine-blessed-palm-fronds-shimmering-against-the-waves theme that was painted outside my window.

Tropical.

Coco nutty.

Sunshine.

There it was. The colour I was looking for.

Turmeric-tricked.

Am I mad or what?

Ingredients

Pork Belly 500g, cut into random chunks; Onions 3 large; Garlic 15 cloves; Green Chillies 3; Peppercorns whole, half a handful; Potatoes 3, quartered; Tender Coconut flesh, ½ cup; Turmeric 1 tsp; Oil 1 ½ tbsp; Water 4 cups; Salt to taste.

Method

Rub salt over the pork belly chunks and keep for half an hour. In the meanwhile, put the onions, garlic and green chillies into a blender and make into a paste. Separately, blend the tender coconut into a paste.

Heat oil in the pressure cooker and sauté the onion-garlic-chilly paste for 5 minutes. Then add the pork belly and sauté for another 5. Add the turmeric and the coconut paste and sauté until everything turns a soothing sunshiny day. Toss in the peppercorns and the potatoes and then sauté for 2 minutes. Add the water and let it come to a boil. Shut the pressure cooker and wait for 30 minutes before you dig in.

Eat with crisped chapattis or mop up with stale bread.

If you frown on the pressure cooker short cut, use a pot and let it bubble away for a couple of hours, or, however long it takes to get soft and succulent and fall-off-the-fat.

4 thoughts on “Curried Pork Belly of The Random Kind

  1. Fine post Sanjiv, I love the thought of menu planning through colour. I am thinking of a dark brown at present. The Wife is preparing coffee with a slice of coffee cake. That must be the reason.
    My WordPress reader is not working as it should. A number of the blogs I follow are not appearing in the reader. Hopefully it is a glitch and will be fixed soon. Hence, my late looking at this post.
    Best,
    Conor

  2. sanjiv it sounds great but shouldnt pork belly be a little more subtle and less curried ? thought it doesnt lend itself to indian masalas

    • Even I thought the same but in the randomness of putting this together, I was totally surprised by the end result. You’ll be too, so try it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

