Egg Drop Oat Porridge For A (Savoury) Change


Your doc says eat Oats. You say boring. Your doc says it’s good for you. You say not every day. Sigh.

You’re right, Oats with milk as a daily cycle can be a bit of a drag, even if you spruce it up with fruits and nuts. And in spite of what health and nutrition practitioners may espouse about the benefits of Oats and all the good it does for your innards, heart included, it’s quite natural for your taste buds to revolt the monotony.

One such taste uprising on a Sunday morning made me think of change. Change being in the air, what with other uprisings world over, I marched off to the refrigerator, pored inside and looked for all the things I liked that could possibly go with Oats.

Eggs. Tomatoes. Mushrooms. Onions. Butter. Should I make an omlette instead? Nah, it was about Oats. Can I combine them all? Never done that before. What do I have to lose? Nothing, and everything (read milk).

With that positive thought in mind, I got down to some cooking just as the growls from my stomach were reaching mass protest level.

“Great, now how do I do it?” is often where I’m stuck when trying something new. That’s when I figure what kind of taste I want and flashes of all that I’ve eaten zip past. Here’s what I ended up with. Egg, dropped in Chinese soup style. Fresh tomato garnishing, thinking Mediterranean here. And a sharp chilli bite, reflecting my roots.

Delicious goodness, I purr in satisfaction. Super healthy and nutritious too. Ok, cut out the butter if you’d like to feel less guilty. No, don’t. The butter makes it yumm.

Delicious goodness. Why be boring with Oats?

For 1 serving:

Ingredients: 35 g Quaker Oats; 1 egg, beaten; 1 small onion, finely chopped; ½ a tomato, finely chopped; 2 large button mushrooms, sliced; 1 small green chilly, sliced (optional); 15 g butter; 450 ml water; salt to taste.

Method: Melt the butter in a pot and add the chopped onions and green chillies, sauté until the onions become translucent. Add the mushrooms and sauté for two minutes. Add water and stir in the Oats to avoid forming lumps. Add salt. Bring to a boil. Add the egg slowly, stirring all the time so you get wispy strands. Simmer on low for three minutes, stirring occasionally, until the Oats are cooked. Turn gas off and sprinkle the chopped tomato, fold into the porridge.

Serve hot. Banish boredom.

For my Savoury Oats recipe, click here.

10 thoughts on “Egg Drop Oat Porridge For A (Savoury) Change

Leave a Reply

